Forgive Me

 
OVERVIEW

Hailed by Douglas Preston as “a master storyteller,” Joshua Corin returns with another white-knuckle thriller featuring ex-FBI agent Xanadu Marx. And this time, payback comes with a price tag.

They call themselves the Serendipity Group, a charitable organization that helps victims take revenge on those who’ve wronged them. But when the group’s hit list leaks, the hunters become the hunted—and two innocents are caught in the crossfire.

A pair of newlyweds are waylaid in Atlanta after a bad storm disrupts their flight to Paris. They are stuck in a dingy airport hotel room—until a stranger insists the happy couple take his lavish suite. But the man’s kindness is a ruse: They are being used as bait, and soon find themselves prisoners of a maniac with a hacksaw—all because of a list of thirteen people marked for execution.

Ex-FBI agent Xanadu Marx doesn’t know how her name ended up on the list, but she’ll be toast if she doesn’t take herself off it. Now a civilian on parole after a career-killing mistake, Xanadu Marx supposedly has three days to live, and the question isn’t whether she has an enemy gunning for her, it’s which one. But when two wide-eyed newlyweds may have become collateral damage, Xana realizes that there are some sins that can’t be forgiven.

Read More

Cost of Life

 
OVERVIEW

For readers of Preston & Child, James Rollins, and Brad Thor comes a gripping new thriller from Joshua Corin, in which an audacious hijacking is just the beginning of a twisted international nightmare.

Happy Independence Day. You’re all going to die.

Life can’t be better for veteran pilot Larry Walder. He has a great job, a terrific kid, a gorgeous wife—and no inkling that tonight will be the end of the world as he knows it. In the early hours before the Fourth of July, three men break into Larry’s home. And as the day lurches on to its terrifying course, a life is taken, and Flight 816 from Atlanta to Cozumel, Mexico, vanishes off the radar.

In the air, Larry must find a way to save his family, his crew, and his passengers. On the ground, disgraced FBI agent Xanadu Marx goes rogue, making it her mission to track down the missing flight before the hijackers reach their diabolical endgame. With the casualties racking up and the world’s busiest airport under lockdown, a message arrives: This is no ordinary hijacking, no typical hostage crisis. This ransom is a totally different beast—the first hint of a conspiracy that might bring America to its knees.

Read More

Before Cain Strikes

 
OVERVIEW

When the student is ready, the teacher appears. The only problem is, in this online classroom the students are would-be serial killers eager to learn the tricks of the trade from a master, the enigmatic Cain42.

FBI consultant Esme Stuart is struggling to stanch the doubt and fear eating away at her marriage. Now a seedy true-crime writer is dredging up the deadly confrontation that nearly destroyed her. But the link between Esme’s old enemy and this new predator is the key to the Bureau’s manhunt.

Esme knows her involvement in the case could cost her everything. Her marriage. Her daughter. Her life. But when Cain openly challenges his “students” to embark on a killing spree, she has no choice but to act—before Cain strikes another victim down…

Read More

While Galileo Preys

 
OVERVIEW

“If there were a god, he would have stopped me.”

That’s the message discovered atop an elementary school in downtown Atlanta. Across the street are the bodies of fourteen innocent men and women, each quickly and cleanly murdered. The sniper Galileo is on the loose. He can end a human life from hundreds of yards away. And he is just getting started.

Where others see puzzles, Esme Stuart sees patterns, and these outside-the-box inductive skills made her one of the FBI’s top field operatives. But she turned her back on all that eight years ago to start a family and live a normal life. She now has a husband and a daughter and a Long Island home to call her own, far removed from the bloody streets of Atlanta.

But Galileo’s murders escalate and Esme’s beleaguered old boss at the Bureau needs the help of his former protégée. But how can she turn her back on her well-earned quiet life? How would she ever be able to justify such a choice to her husband? To her daughter?

And what will happen when Galileo turns his scope on them?

Read More

Nuclear Winter Wonderland

 
OVERVIEW

An underachieving college kid has six days to save the world from atomic annihilation in this offbeat tale about a frenzied race from the icy Pocono Mountains to the dark heart of Walt Disney World.

It all begins as Adam Weiss and his sister Anna head home to New Jersey for winter break. Pulling into a highway rest stop, they are confronted suddenly by a lunatic nuclear terrorist who kidnaps Anna and leads Adam off in furious pursuit.

Along the way he teams up with a dyspeptic ex-mob thug and a Spanish-speaking female clown, creating an oddball rescue squad that is soon busy dodging the police and defeating an army of shadowy opponents.

But will they be in time to rescue Anna?

 

Read More

American Lies

 
OVERVIEW

For wild-card ex-FBI agent Xanadu Marx, the war on terror hits close to home—thanks to a remorseless enemy who’s all too familiar—in this explosive thriller.

“Joshua Corin is a master storyteller.”—Douglas Preston, #1 bestselling co-creator of the Pendergast novels

It begins on a beautiful day in Atlanta, with a mosque full of Muslim worshippers celebrating the end of Ramadan. The festivities are cut brutally short when a military drone appears in the sky—and launches a missile into the building. Then, at a mosque in Dearborn, Michigan, another peaceful gathering is torn apart by the violent blast of a suicide bomber. The attacks set the entire nation on edge, with authorities scrambling to make sense of the situation and keep the populace calm while pundits and politicians of all stripes fight for time in the spotlight.

But for ex-FBI agent Xanadu Marx, her first instinct is revenge. Unwilling to let such savagery go unanswered, she plunges into the investigation the police have started—but only she can finish. Disregarding official warnings from the government and outright threats from others, she follows a trail of homegrown hatred and violence to uncover a conspiracy so cold-blooded that no one will believe her—even if she lives long enough to tell. . . .

Read More

Hollywood vs the Author

 
OVERVIEW

It’s no secret that authors have a love-hate relationship with Hollywood. The oft-repeated cliché that “the book was better than the movie” holds true for more reasons than the average reader will ever know. When asked about selling their book rights to Hollywood authors like to joke that they drive their manuscripts to the border of Arizona and California and toss them over the fence, driving back the way they came at breakneck speed. This is probably because Hollywood just doesn’t “get it.” Its vision for the film or TV series rarely seems to match the vision of the author. And for those rare individuals who’ve had the fortune of sitting across the desk from one of the myriad, interchangeable development execs praising the brilliance of their work while ticking off a never-ending list of notes for the rewrite, the pros of pitching their work to Hollywood rarely outweigh the cons.

Stephen Jay Schwartz has sat on both sides of that desk—first as the Director of Development for film director Wolfgang Petersen, then as a screenwriter and author pitching his work to the film and television industry. He’s seen all sides of what is known in this small community as “Development Hell.” The process is both amusing and heartbreaking. Most authors whose work contains a modicum of commercial potential eventually find themselves in “the room” taking a shot at seeing their creations re-visualized by agents, producers or development executives. What they often discover is that their audience is younger and less worldly as themselves. What passes for “story notes” is often a mishmash of vaguely connected ideas intended to put the producer’s personal stamp on the project.

Hollywood Versus The Author is a collection of non-fiction anecdotes by authors who’ve had the pleasure of experiencing the development room firsthand—some who have successfully managed to straddle the two worlds, seeing their works morph into the kinds of feature films and TV shows that make them proud, and others who stepped blindsided into that room after selling their first or second novels. All the stories in this collection illustrate the great divide between the world of literature and the big or small screen. They underscore the insanity of every crazy thing you’ve ever heard about Hollywood. For insiders and outsiders alike, Hollywood Versus The Author delivers the goods.

Read More